Did you know that there is a way to tell when someone is lying just by looking at them and their observing their behavior?
I read about it in an article, and I wanted to share it with all of you since I found it very interesting!
The article described many ways to know when someone is lying, but I'll just mention some of the ones I found most intriguing.
Body language: Someone who is lying will typically hide their palms and won't sit up straight. Moreover, once the subject is changed, they will change from being anxious (fingernail biting, fidgeting, sweating and jiggling the contents of pockets) to being relaxed (breathing deeply and taking open gestures).
Eye Movement: Based on Neuro-Linguistic Programing (a science that helps to understand how the mind operates) one is able to tell which function is taking place inside the brain based on eye movement. For example, looking towards the upper left side means that you are constructing an image in your mind, while looking at the upper right side means that you are recalling an image. Thus, someone who is lying (making something up) will be looking towards their left because they will be trying to create an event in their mind.
Fake Smiles: A true smile will make different muscle in your face move, like the cheek muscles and the muscle groups below the eyes. This will make a few wrinkles appear on the face, especially below the eyes. Fake smiles only result in the movement of the muscles around the mouth, while other muscles remain in place. So if they're only smiling with their mouth, and not their eyes, it's a fake smile!
Skepticism: People who always lie tend to be more skeptic because they think that everyone is lying, too. People who rarely lie believe anything because they assume that no one is a liar. (This explains why I'm so gullible!)
There are many more ways, but I don't want to get into so much detail!
I just wanted to share this because I love psychology! I hope you all enjoyed!
- Pillow
I've been away from my computer for a few days, and now I'm so frustrated trying to catch up with all these blogs!
It's driving me insane!
Especially since I can't seem to figure out how to work this site - hence why this blog is called "Eng 101"
If any of you know how to change the name, please feel free to tell me!
I'm not really into blogging... just the thought of having to catch people's attention is nerve racking!
However, I like reading other people's blogs, especially personal blogs because I get to find out more about people.
In fact, one of my favorite blogs is a personal blog from a friend who lives in Utah.
He went traveling for two years, and I would keep up to date by reading his blogs.
I also enjoy reading DIY blogs; I love learning new things!
Choosing a favorite blog would be too hard; I just like anything interesting or unique!
Personally, I don't think there are any bad blogs because everyone has their own taste and opinion on blogs.
However, I do find some blogs quite boring, so I guess those would be bad blogs to me.
It all depends on the content it contains, though.
Since I'm not really into politics, I would have to say any blogs pertaining to that bore me.
On a side note, I realized part of my name is on the link to my blog, so much for keeping things mysterious!
It doesn't matter though! I'm still going with being called Pillow!
-Pillow
Warning: I'm not a very interesting person, so this is going to be a pretty boring blog post.

First off: Hi!
For the fun of it, I decided to not use my real name!
It makes everything more mysterious.
So.. my name's Pillow and, if you haven't guessed it already, I'm a girl.
I know, I know, the nickname Pillow is weird - maybe even funny.
My friend gave it to me a long time ago because he couldn't think of a nickname that matched my name, so he gave me one to match my personality.
So why Pillow?
His reasons were that I'm comfortable and cuddly like a pillow (well, pillows don't cuddle you, but you cuddle pillows)
Wait.. the reasons above say nothing about my personality..
There's more to the story, but I don't want to get into it; I already talked too much!
Moving on.. I don't really have many hobbies or interests.
I enjoy getting to know people and doing things indoors, like watching movies or playing video games.
Anything else, I can give it a try! I like new adventures.
Feel free to suggest anything!
My goals in attending GCC are pretty simple: I need credits
I was recently at UA, majoring in Pharmacy, and I didn't take an English class, so now I have to make up for that!
I transferred to ASU this year, and I'm majoring in nursing now - except I need to take English 101 and English 102 to get into the nursing program.
My goodness this is boring!
If you're still reading, congratulations! I even bored myself with all of this!
Hope you're awake enough to leave a comment!
- Pillow